CHAPTER II.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT

CONSPECTUS

D

	LUCE	
Part IConstitution of Canada	49	P
SPECIAL ARTICLE: Amendment of the Canadian Constitution	51	
Part IIMachinery of Government	58	
SECTION 1. THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT Subsection 1. The Executive Subsection 2. The Legislature Subsection 3. The Judiciary	58 58 63 75	
SECTION 2. PROVINCIAL AND TERRITORIAL		P
GOVERNMENTS	77 78	
Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island	78	Pa
Subsection 3. Nova Scotia Subsection 4. New Brunswick	80 81	
Subsection 5. Quebec	82	
Subsection 6. Ontario Subsection 7. Manitoba	83 85	
Subsection 8. Saskatchewan	85	
Subsection 9. Alberta Subsection 10. British Columbia	86 87	
Subsection 10. British Columbia	67	
Territories	89	
SECTION 3. MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT	90	
SECTION 4. FEDERAL AND PROVINCIAL ROYAL COMMISSIONS	94	

	PAGE
Part III.—Administrative Functions of the Federal Government	9 6
SECTION 1. DEPARTMENTS, BOARDS, COM- MISSIONS, ETC	96
SECTION 2. CROWN CORPORATIONS	104
Section 3. Acts Administered by Federal Departments	112
Part IV.—Federal Government Employ- ment	117
Part V.—Canada's External Relations	129
Section 1. Diplomatic Representation as at Jan. 1, 1961	130
Section 2. International Activities, 1960	133
Subsection 1. Canada and Common- wealth Relations	133
Subsection 2. Canada and the United Nations	134
Subsection 3. Canada and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization	140
Subsection 4. Canadian External Aid	141

The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found facing p. 1 of this volume.

PART I.-CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

The Canadian federal state, which today comprises ten provinces and two vast northern territories, had its beginning ninety-four years ago in the enactment (Mar. 29, 1867) by the Parliament of the United Kingdom of the British North America Act, 1867. Fashioned largely out of the Seventy-two Resolutions drafted at Quebec (1864) by the Fathers of Confederation, the British North America Act, 1867 provided for the federal union of the three British North American provinces (Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia) in one Dominion under the name of "Canada".

While the new nation that came into being on July 1, 1867 was a federation comprised of four provinces, namely, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, Sect. 146 of the Act provided for the admission into the Union of the Crown colonies of Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland on the Atlantic and the united (1866) island and mainland colony of British Columbia on the Pacific, and also of the vast expanse of Hudson's Bay Company territory in the North West known as "Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory". Following the negotiation of an agreement on terms comprising the Company's surrender of its authority and territories to the Crown (which was to transfer them at once to Canada) and the retention of one-twentieth of the land of the fertile belt (the southern territories) with designated blocks of land around its trading posts and a Canadian cash payment of £300,000, the new nation of Canada was ready to expand westward with unmatched momentum across the Continent to the Pacific.